Fair Day in Victoria Park

Getting to Victoria Park is no easy task.  Well it should be, but it wasn’t.  My hotel, which advertises on their website to being a Mardi Gras and LGBT community supporter knew nothing about the event, or where Victoria Park was.  I then just headed down to the city, where two taxi drivers told me they had never heard of the park, and that I must have the name wrong.  Luckily, after about 40 minutes, a police officer pointed me in the right direction.

Now, I’ve heard about the Aussie sun before, but now I know the true meaning of “Being Naked.”  It was hot, and not a cloud in the sky.  The park was full of music, food, promotional and awareness booths, a pet show, games,  and just friends getting together for a regular day in the park.  

It was a long day, but a very interesting introduction to Sydney.  The community here is much more established, and free than in Taiwan and the Philippines.  For me it had a much different feel, and I am still trying to put my finger on it.  Still jet-lagged and sunburnt, I slowly made the walk back to King’s Cross, and passed out in my bunk.


(Travel Experiences of WWP Photographer ~ Charles Meacham)

Leave a Reply

